Group photo 2021
Welcome to the homepage of the research group “Inorganic Materials ChemistryIMC of Prof. Dr. Anjana Devi. Our group focuses on the development, synthesis and evaluation of high-performance precursors for vapor phase deposition processes namely chemical vapor deposition (CVD), atomic layer deposition (ALD) and molecular layer deposition (MLD).
We collaborate with scientists from various disciplines (Physics, Chemistry and Engineers) and our goal is to develop nanostructured materials for different applications ranging from microelectronics, sensors, dielectrics, barrier coatings, spintronics, optics, catalysis etc.


11. October 2021

ALPIN Kick-Off Meeting in Dresden

Some impressions of our group trip to Dresden in September for the ALPIN Kick-Off and Workshop 2021.
It was a great opportunity to interconnect with the ALD community, meet our collaborators, old friends and get to know some new faces. We hope to see you all next year, maybe in the Ruhr-Area? Fingers crossed!

Clean Room tour at TUD
Clean room tour with Martin Knaut in the Labs of Institut für Halbleiter und Mikrosystemtechnik at TUD

Group photo Altenberg

PhD Defense of Sebastian

Last Friday, Sebastian Beer successfully defended his PhD thesis giving a great talk about his work on precursor development and CVD for optomagnetics and corrosion protection coatings.
You may call yourself Dr. Beer now, a name to remember. Congratulations Basti! Well-deserved, we are proud of you!

Sebastian Beer PhD Defense

Sebastian Beer PhD Defense 2
New publication
27. September 2021

CVD grown GaSbxN1-x films as visible-light active photoanodes

D. Zywitzki, D. Mitoraj, Y. Vilk, O. Mendoza Reyes, M. Schleuning, D. Friedrich, A. Sadlo, D. Rogalla, R. Eichberger, R. Beranek, A. Devi
Dalton Trans., 2021, Accepted Manuscript
Read the full article...
17. September 2021

Farewell to Manuela


We will definitely miss Manuela Winter, our „Ms. X-ray“!
Thank you Manuela for all your support and great team work together with Anjana’s Kindergarten over the years!
More than 40 joint publications with the IMC group demonstrate the great team work and your excellent crystallography skills.

Wishing you all the best and ‘live long and prosper’!


23. August 2021

New Cover Page


A new cover page in Journal of Materials Chemistry C designed by Jan. This research work on thin WS2 layers demonstrates the potential of 2D-type of materials for sensing and electrocatalytic applications.
A productive output and collaboration between Prof. Schuhmann’s group at RUB, the ZGH (Zentrum für grenzflächendominierte Höchstleistungswerkstoffe), RUBION, our industry partner Paragon GmbH and Co. KGaA and our group.

Click here to read the full article.
New publication
17. August 2021

Chemical vapor deposition of Cobalt and Nickel Ferrite thin films: Investigation of structure and pseudocapacitive properties

D. Zywitzki, R. Schaper, E. Ciftyürek, J.-L. Wree, D. H. Taffa, D. M. Baier, D. Rogalla, Y. Li, M. Meischein, A. Ludwig, Z. Li, K. Schierbaum, M. Wark, A. Devi
Adv. Mater. Interfaces, 2021, 2100949
Read the full article...
12. August 2021

Best PhD Thesis Award from the GDCh!

Lukas Mai

Congratulations Lukas! You deserve it!
We are proud that Lukas Mai was awarded the GDCh best thesis award for his interdiscplinary PhD thesis involving chemistry, material science and engineering.
Precursors are building blocks for CVD and ALD of nanostructured functional films. At times, simple chemistry makes a big change!
When new metalorganic complexes are in par with the standard precursors (commercially available) and have additional advantages, then it is a big step forward for a precursor chemist. This was the case for Al and Zn precursors for ALD of Al2O3 and ZnO covered in Lukas’ PhD thesis. A further motivation for our group to look for new and advanced precursors.
The two research projects SFB-TR-87 and EFRE-FunALD focused on this theme.
Another feather in the cap for Lukas after his success with the SDW and FCI fellowships (declined) for doing his PhD.

Click here to read the full article
New publication
29. July 2021

A study on the influence of ligand variation on formamidinate complexes of yttrium: New precursors for atomic layer deposition of yttrium oxide

S. M. J. Beer, N. Boysen, A. Muriqi, D. Zanders, T. Berning, D. Rogalla, C. Bock, M. Nolan, A. Devi
Dalton Trans., 2021, 50, 12944 – 12956
Read the full article...
New publication
1. July 2021

Sensing and electrocatalytic activity of tungsten disulphide thin films fabricated via metalorganic chemical vapour deposition

J.‑L. Wree, J.‑P. Glauber, D. Öhl, A. Niesen, A. Kostka, D. Rogalla, W. Schuhmann, A. Devi
J. Mater. Chem. C, 2021, 9, 10254 – 10265
Read the full article...
New publication
18. June 2021

Atomic Layer Deposition of High-Quality Copper Metal Films from Cu(acac)2 and Hydroquinone Reductant

T. S. Tripathi, M. Wilken, C. Hoppe, T. de los Arcos, G. Grundmeier, A. Devi, M. Karppinen
Adv. Eng. Mater., 2021, 2100446
Read the full article...